Holy Water IPA

If I started a cult it would worship the almighty hop. At every cult gathering we would give praises to this wonderful flower, and drink copious amounts of Holy Water IPA.

Holy Water IPA was brewed with more than double the amount of hops of a standard IPA, but over 90% of the hops were added in the last 15 minutes. This “late hopping” method provides tons of hop flavor and aroma but still has incredible balance.

ABV = 5.9% IBU = 65

Ingredients: Malts = 2 Row Pale, Caramel 40L, Belgian CaraMunich, Cara-Pils. Hops = Cascade, Chinook, Amarillo, Nugget. Yeast = California Ale

  1. #1 by Brett on January 10, 2012 - 11:56 PM

    I’m throwing all of my money at my computer monitor – but I’m not getting any more of this beer immediately.

    How can I rectify this problem?

    • #2 by jeremy on January 11, 2012 - 12:06 AM

      haha, that is a problem. maybe we can arrange a trade of some sort?

  2. #3 by Andrew Cleghorn on January 11, 2012 - 11:31 AM

    I really enjoyed this beer and love the name. Poured cloudy with a few particles which I’d expect in a good hoppy IPA. The head was a little thin and thin lacing. It has a great big floral and fruity aroma. The upfront taste matches the aroma but fades a little too quickly as it goes down very smooth but lacks carbonation and complexity. It has a nice bite and a hoppy bitter after taste. As this is a work in progress, I think it is off to a great start and look forward to round 2. Thanks for the beer!

  3. #4 by Nick on January 11, 2012 - 9:15 PM

    1. I agree with Brett in hoping this beer finds its way inside me again in the future.

    2. AC hit on most of the notes I came across while drinking this. One thing I’m a big fan of is the fuller, creamier mouthfeel. More to it than some IPAs that taste like a bunch of flowers soaked in water. I get 2 different hop kicks. One right up front and one that comes later on and lingers. But I’d have to say the caramel malt in the middle is what makes it. As aggressively hopped beers go, definitely one of the more balanced. I’d love to give some good constructive ciritcism, but I don’t see a whole lot of negatives. I’d only want to drink a few at a time, but I’m guessing it was intended to be a session beer.

  4. #5 by Tim on January 18, 2012 - 2:13 PM

    Excellent beer. Poured a lovely dark golden color. Surprisingly effervescent for an IPA. Had a nice floral/citrus smell. The head died down nicely and cutting through was perfect. Very balanced hops, not overpowering, just right. It finished very smooth, nothing too bitter or biting lingered after it was down the gullet. Very well balanced, delicious IPA. Great stuff.

  5. #6 by Wade on January 19, 2012 - 4:25 PM

    I’m a big IPA fan and this is an excellent example of the breed. Very nice.

  6. #7 by Dave Bauer on February 15, 2012 - 9:49 PM

    I’m relatively new to the IPA game, being a brown/stout/porter guy for most of my adult life. I’ve recently learned to love IPAs, and this was a very good one. Hints of grapefruit, not too overpowering, and extremely smooth. I’d drink this again, in mass quantities.

Leave a Reply

